Pregnancy and Eating

IMG_20160226_202044

I’ve made it to 14 weeks and look at the baby bump in the picture as well!IMG_20160215_152014

Here’s me at 12+ weeks after a big meal lol

So I originally started this blog entry sometime early January to document the thought process of eating while pregnant. I had kind of forgotten about it until weekend before last when a friend of a friend was asking me TONS of questions about being pregnant and becoming pregnant. Her and her husband had been trying a couple of months and were starting to get frustrated the BFP hadn’t happened yet. And truly was like I need to finish this thing up while waiting in the drive thru for my taco bell.

My pregnancy journey has been much like my fitness journey, not necessarily straightforward and definitely not easy and I’m pretty upfront about that fact. I tell anyone that asks about advice when it comes to even thinking about getting pregnant is to get healthy. I’m not saying you have to run 100 miles a week and eat nothing but quinoa but there are steps that will definitely help in getting your body healthy enough to carry a baby and procreate. I lost around 40 pounds in order to get pregnant and have a kid. I found exercises that I loved (kickboxing, running, beachbody dvds to break up the boredom or to do on a rainy day) and found a “diet” that I personally could live with, loved, and was the right type for my body and health (low carb/keto for me).

I was SO GLAD that I did this. My skin cleared up, my health majorly improved, and I found a great balance that made my mind healthy as well. Mental health is HUGE in the overall health of one’s well-being and doesn’t get the necessary attention that it deserves. When all of this clicked for me is when I got pregnant.

And I’m so glad that I was eating healthy beforehand because I feel like I’m on the ultimate frat kid diet right now just trying to feed my sweet parasite. This babe loves cheeseburgers, french fries, pizza, Taco Bell, and the only chicken that is worthy is a fried chicken something from Chick Fil-A.  The friend of a friend said that she would start eating healthy once she found out she was pregnant and I told her to start now for this very reason.

There are a lot of misconceptions about eating while pregnant. One of the major ones for me is that I would have any control over it. For example, I  spit out 3 strawberries in a row because the being growing in me decided they were bad today. Pineapple and blueberries are good to go though. Good thing I didn’t buy the complete strawberry container like I debated. I heard a lot of women had issues with chicken and poultry and I remember thinking that is so bizarre but it can be so freaking true that it is annoying. Even seeing uncooked chicken in the store right now is enough to make my stomach flip.

Knowing these food aversions (which is such a simple word for such a violent feeling) which has also ruled out eating nice big, healthy salads, I’ve developed ways to make sure that I’m eating as balanced as humanely possible. I mix mushrooms into almost every cooked meal. If I eat a burger, I get it with as much of the works as I can handle, and I make sure that the lettuce and tomatoes are still on my tacos. I make Philly cheese steaks at home to make sure that I’m getting the vegetables that way too. The other day I made pepperoni rolls and sauteed spinach and was able to get the spinach down no problem. I joke that I’m already playing make a deal to get the kid to eat the necessary vegetables.

I’m also taking everything a day at a time. My energy levels have gotten better this week but I do hurt when I start to do too much. Right now I’m planning to walk a 5k on Saturday since the weather will be nice and to also test out to see how my body will handle 5ks for race season.

The race shirts that I got in an XL have come in handy so that I have something to be comfortable in after work.

 

Leave a Reply

