PCOS Update

This past week has been extremely rough but interesting and good.

I started a new fitness schedule, started some dietary changes, and most importantly started my period. For most women, this isn’t that big of a deal.  However, when you have PCOS this can be a HUGE deal.

For the past two weeks, I’ve had severe uterine cramping.  Like I thought  I was going to die.  I almost threw up I was in so much pain. So when I made my yearly appointment on Wednesday, I asked to talk to my doctor about it and he wanted me to come in so they can take a look at what is happening in my uterus. Halfway through my work day yesterday, I started my period for the first time in 127 days.

My doctor still wanted me to come in so we can check on the state of things.  I still have cysts on my ovaries.  There are still quite a bit but not nearly as much as there was the first time I went.  He let me know that this is probably going to be what my periods are going to be like and that I shouldn’t worry too much but he wants me to call and let him know every couple of months what is going on with my cycles because he cares.

He also told me of a study he read recently where women that lost just 5% of their body weight had more success getting pregnant than those that were prescribed clomiphene (Clomid) which helps stimulate ovulation.  He really encouraged me to focus on that 5% right now and take this one step at a time.  He was extremely positive that we are heading in the right direction.

This bit of info has also given me a new way for me to look at weight loss as well.  Instead of focusing on the actual pounds to lose, I’m going to focus on the percentage.  I’ve read that even losing 10% of your body weight helps to lower all kinds of things like risk of heart attack, stroke, and diabetes.  Each time I lose a 5%, I know that I am not only closer to my goal of having a mini-Caulfield but also of having a healthier lifestyle and outlook on life.

Leave a Reply

