Yay I’m 32! Yay, I’m 32?

Yesterday was my 32nd birthday and overall it was pretty lackluster. I worked and had some pretty horrific deadlines.  My quads were so sore from a Kundalini class at Delta Groove Yoga in Memphis that the thought of doing jumping jacks at kickboxing made me want to cry. So instead, I ran a quick errand to Target, got me and T a Firehouse Sub since I got a free one for my birthday, and watched some TV.

I always take this day to really reflect on the past year.  And this year had some amazing things and some painful stuff, as I think every year does. I always try to make the painful stuff into a positive movement in my life.  Does this always work? No. But definitely trying to do so keeps me somewhat sane.

Here are some of my positives for the year:

I became a blonde for the first time since I was 17 and felt like a total bombshell!

The picture above is from one of my very best friends getting married in April.  One is before makeup and one is after makeup.

I got my very first new (at least to me-no other family member driving beforehand car)

I despise having a car note but couldn’t be happier driving this liquid silver beast around town.

I ran my first obstacle course! 

I absolutely LOVED the experience.  I didn’t do that great but it was so much freaking fun and I definitely would love to do another one.

I took my most favorite after race picture ever 🙂

Photo

Took an awesome impromptu vacation with my family and Tristan to Chattanooga

 Photo

I was the first one to find out this lovely woman was pregnant with her first child:

 

She found out right before a race we did, just not this race. 🙂

I use the picture above for 2 reasons.  About the time of this picture, I was feeling pretty down about how far I had come on my fitness journey. However this is what I looked like just the year before:

I look and feel like a totally different person comparing the two photos.  And to be honest, there is only about a 10# difference between these photos.

One of the biggest things, I learned overall between turning 31 and 32 is that the scale is a liar, there is more to life than that number, and there is more to a year than just the numbers and days that fill it.  The experiences that you have are what you ultimately remember.  For me my favorite recollections come from the races that I participated in, especially during the summer.  They came from being outside, running, exercising, and really living life to the fullest.

So yeah, yay for 32!!  Can’t wait to see what the year brings!

Leave a Reply

