A New Aspect in the Journey

As many of you know, I’ve been on my weight loss/healthy lifestyle journey for over a year now. One of the reasons that I started this journey is because I wanted to be the healthiest me possible for when Tristan and I started working on trying to conceive a mini-Caulfield.

Today, I received the confirmation that I have Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome. I have all the physical markers and the hormonal markers for the syndrome and I have medicine that will help get things going for me again in all areas. One of the hardest parts of my journey has been not being able to see results that match up to the effort I’ve put in. However, this diagnose lets me know why. Back in February, I went and had a physical thinking something was going on with my thyroid and when that came back normal I was really concerned about what was going on with my body.  I just knew something was wrong but didn’t know what it was or what it could even remotely possibly be.  I felt completely out of whack and to be honest, depressed.

Come to find out, I have insulin resistance so my body isn’t using insulin effectively which makes weight loss necessary but also extreme hard.

So today, I start my new medicine right before bed and this is a medicine that I will probably take forever. But this medicine will help me in losing weight (accompanied of course with a healthy diet and exercise because it is not a diet pill), lower my testosterone levels, balance out my other crazy hormones that aren’t acting right, and when that happens help to lower my triglycerides and cholesterol. When all of these things happen, hopefully I won’t be as hairy and my acne will subside as well. I feel like this is sounding like a miracle drug but it really it is because one thing out of whack has made other things in my body go crazy.

The drug is metformin which is used in treating diabetes; however, I am not diabetic which the doctor made sure to tell me over and over again.  I’ve read a lot of successful stories not only for weight loss but for also conception while using this medicine so I have high hopes.

This blog will not only help me document the weight loss adventures but will also help me document the new aspect of this journey, living with PCOS.

This made me realize how important it is to listen to your body.  No one knows how you function more so than you.  I had a feeling something was wrong, or at least not working right and I was correct.  It just took a while to for me to figure out what was going on.

Leave a Reply

