Getting Ready for the Weekend

This weekend is going to be awesome!  I’m getting to visit my family back in Gallatin and we are taking an extra road trip to go to the aquarium in Chattanooga.  It has been years since we have all been on a vacation together so I’m really excited about it.  This week has been really great as far as workouts go and pretty decent as far as eating goes.  I finally had some alfredo that really hit the spot and was everything I thought it would be, other than the fact I used chicken instead of bay scallops because I can’t seem to find bay scallops anywhere right now.  I guess I’m not looking hard enough but oh well.

My week’s workouts:

Monday: Kickboxing

Tuesday: started 30 day challenge and some kettle bells

Wednesday: Kickboxing & Day 2 of 30 day challenge

Thursday: PiYo Drench dvd, Kickboxing, and Day 3 of the 30 day challenge

Friday: PiYo Drench dvd

This week has been a total sensation of great workouts.  It is also the first week in a long time that I’ve worked out in some form or fashion every single day of the work week and it feels good.  I can tell that my mood has gotten better and I’m just feeling all around better.  My ankle still isn’t 100% which has made me come to the conclusion that I will not be fully ready for the half marathon I wanted to do come October.  I felt really guilty about admitting this to myself and when I vocalized it to others it made it more of a reality.  In doing this, I feel like I’ve had a weight lifted off of me in a sense.  I think the weight of all those miles and how sporadic my running has been was taking a toll on the way that I was thinking about myself and my fitness levels.  I’m taking the next week or so to really strengthen up my ankle and see how things go.  I plan on doing the Cooper Young 4 miler two weeks from today and depending on how that race goes   I’m really loving the mix of doing kickboxing and piyo and have already been able to tell a difference in my workouts, my form, my attitude, and my physical body.  While showing a friend the importance of tracking not just the number on the scale and inches but doing so in pictures, I made this comparison picture that really shows me that every change I have made has been worth it.

PhotoGrid_1409265359438

October 2013 vs. August 2014

Another little treat this week has been a new smoothie recipe that I came up with because I ran out of my traditional smoothie material and didn’t feel like going the store.  It contains one frozen banana, 6 or so ice cubes made with coffee, 1/8 cup of ground flax seed, 1/4 cup of traditional oats, 1/2 scoop of Juice Plus+ Complete Protein Powder in Dutch Chocolate, a tsp of honey to help with allergies, and 1.5-2 cups of water.  When I let my husband try it, he was shocked it didn’t have any milk.  Here it is without the water.  It doesn’t look the prettiest in the world but it so good and healthy.  The extra coffee gives me a little kick in the morning too which has helped with productivity.

 IMG_20140828_091001

And before I leave you for the weekend, I wanted to share this amazing piece that a friend of mine shared on Facebook earlier today.  It motivated me to get out of the bed this morning and actually do my work.

10354662_10101188885541030_7025987979976893459_n

The type of workouts that I do help to improve overall fitness and make me look and feel strong.  That is what my health journey has been about for me.  I wanted to be able to do things I’ve only ever dreamed about doing and wanted to make sure that my health was not the reason I was unable to do fun or even every day activities.  I wanted to have a strong body in order to have a strong life.  And now I’m off for a fun-filled adventure with the Hall Clan.  This will be Tristan’s first outing with us all.  Should be interesting.

LOVE!!!

Leave a Reply

