A New Challenge

After my last blog, I had a couple blogs like my post yay!  So in reading one of those blogs Run, Hemingway, Run, I found this challenge.  Monday, I debated on doing this challenge since so far I haven’t had any luck with 30 day challenges.  I usually have a really rough kickboxing class or a long run and then forget about it.  However, I have never blogged about a challenge and seeing how blogging the 21 day fix stuff worked so well I decided to give it a go.

Yesterday was Day 1 and included 10 push-ups, 50 squats, 15 sit-ups, 5 crunches, 5 leg raises, and a 10 second plank.  Planks have really been a struggle for me in the past so I thought this would be a great way to work on strengthening my planks.  The longest I’ve held one has been a full 2 minutes but it was pure torture.  Leg raises are definitely not one of my favorites although they are slowly becoming an important aspect of my exercises.  Before doing the challenge, I did some work with some free weights and some resistance bands.  I did half of my squats with the resistance band like this:

 

And did the rest of the 25 squats in the traditional form.  The move above is one of my absolute favorite squat exercises mainly because it becomes a fully body workout instead of just a lower body and core exercise.  With the resistance band, I also did more bicep curls, weedwackers (which is where you go super fast with the resistance band in front of you), and one that works the shoulders where you hold the resistance bands to your sides and pull the bands up to your shoulders as fast as you can while keeping the form tight.  All of the exercises I did yesterday, I did at home, in the AC, broke a sweat, cooked dinner, and was able to start catching up on The Leftovers.  I could definitely tell I got a good workout because my arms were shaking and my knees were a little wobbly lol.  I was able to burn around 300 calories in this time which is awesome. And the best news is I will be able to take this on the road with me as I visit my parents and go to the Chattanooga Aquarium this weekend.   Running shoes, calendar of workouts, and my resistance band will definitely be in my luggage.

Leave a Reply

